Privateer Yacht Club Awards

Commodore's Award

The Commodore's Award is given to a person whom the Commodore feels is worthy of recognition for his or her service to Privateer Yacht Club, and often for being a major help to the Commodore.  The silver cup originally belonged to former PYC member Hubert  "Butch" J. Horan (1933-1995) and was returned to the club after his passing by his widow.  Hubert and his wife, Ellen, were enthusiastic Snipe sailors here at Privateer in the '50's & '60's.  Myra Brown was the Commodore when the cup returned to PYC and she used it to create the Commodore's Award.

YearCommodoreRecipientReason for
1997Myra BrownKathy Robertsonadmirable duties for PYC
1998Bill MuselerSteve Morganbehind-the-scenes workforce in the upkeep of PYC
1999Bill DenesGlenn Myrick, R. Ralston & D. McFarlandall the great work they did
2000Steve AdamsGlenn Myrickhis work, including hanging deck windows
2001Terry MyersKent Overbeckmany contributions, including being a prime mover in getting A & B Docks here & installed
2002Ron HarrBob Dehart
2003Kent OverbeckRob Fowlertireless work w/ persistence & perseverance on A Dock, S Cove Sea Wall, & Junior Program Liason
2004Scott ClineBob Hayelectrical work on the docks
2005Bill RobertsonFred Kochtireless work as treasurer and his hard work on B & C Docks
2006Tom ClarkDick Mullenextensive work in facility upgrades
2007Steve GeorgePete Snyderoutstanding contributions to PYC & Editor of The Private Ear
2008Walt JenisonLinda Lesleyall her hard work & letting Bryson do so much
2009Brainard CooperGuy Campbellall his hard work around the club
2010David VarnellDavid Bergevinall his hard work around the club
2011Dieter KubergJohn Rathjenall his hard work around the club
2012Chris CyrulEddie Graham extreme dedication & job well done 
2013Rob FowlerEddie Graham extreme dedication & job well done 
2014Steve ShermanWalt Jenisonalways available and capable
2015Scott IrwinGary Smithfor getting a tough job done as Dock Master
2016Linda Knudson LindKeith Harperalways available and capable
2017Bill RobertsonDee Harwelloutstanding Social Director
2018Guy CampbellTina CampbellDoing Everything & More
2019Josh LandersJan VarnellAlways Volunteering
2020Keith HarperSteve ShermanAlways available and helpful
2021Rob FowlerCory RichardsonPYC Newsletter
2022Tom Clark

Henk Zander Memorial Trophy

The Henk Zander Memorial Trophy is awarded to the skipper who has won the most PHRF races in the Saturday series each year. The trophy was donated in memory of Henk Zander, past Commodore (1979) and enthusiastic racer at PYC. He won about 40 first and second-place trophies during a ten-year period.

2004- Tom Clark

2005- No Award
2006- Bo Cline
2007- Bill Robertson
2008- Bill Robertson
2009- Fowler/Clark
2010- Fowler/Clark
2011- Bill Robertson
2012- Chris Cyrul
2013- Bill Robertson

Brainard Cooper Memorial Award

The Brainard Cooper Memorial Award is the highest award given by Privateer Yacht Club. The deed of gift reads as follows:

A perpetual trophy awarded annually to the club member who, in the opinion of the Board of Directors, has exhibited outstanding attributes in the promotion of sailing and sportsmanship; has contributed significantly to the activities of the club and has demonstrated proficiency and improvement in sailing ability.

The perpetual trophy was donated by Chattanooga New-Free Press, where Brainard Cooper, Sr., was the editor. Brainard Cooper, Jr. donated the mast from his father's boat to be cut and engraved as keeper trophies for the perpetual award. But, the mast was only so long, so beginning with 2013 he club will provide the keeper trophy plagues. 
1967 - Lowery "Buzz" Lamb1968 - C. A. "Chet" Nedwidek
1969 - J. Lloyd Cox
1970 - Dan N. Williams
1971 - John H. Wesley1972 - Frank St. Vincent1973 - David S. Rehring1974 - Kenneth H. Simons
1975 - J. Dean Hearn1976 - Betty Failing1977 - Van Wesley1978 - Pete Duvoisin
1979 - Hendrik Zander, Jr1980 - Jerry Humphreys1981 - Fred Lockeman1982 - Mike McLaughlin
1983 - Jim & Myra Brown 1984 - Rob Fowler1985 - Brainard Cooper, Jr.1986 - Bill Denes
1987 - Patricia Fowler1988 - Bill Webb1989 - Chuck Castleman1990 - John H. Wesley
1991 - Margaret Bentzen1992 - Jim Brown1993 - Kenneth H. Simons1994 - Spike Carscaddon
1995 - Curtis Patterson1996 - Bo Cline 1997 - Bill Berry1998 - John Hearn
1999 - John Coolidge, Jr.2000 - Scott Cline2001 - Steve Morgan2002 - Bill Robertson
2003 - Diane Hickey2004 - John Hearn2005 - Tom Clark2006 - Kent Overbeck
2007 - Chris Cyrul2008 - Bryson Lesley2009 - David Bergevin2010 - David Varnell
2011 - Michael Seeber2012 - Steve George2013 - Linda Knudson Lind2014 - Steve Sherman & Rob Fowler
2015 - Josh Landers 2016 - Pete Snyder 2017- Eddie Graham 2018 - Brainard Cooper, Jr.
2019 - Pat Crowe 2020 - Keith Harper 2021 - Guy Campbell2022-


Secondary address