The Commodore's Award

The Commodore's Award is given to a person whom the Commodore feels is worthy of recognition for his or her service to Privateer Yacht Club, and often for being a major help to the Commodore.  The silver cup originally belonged to former PYC member Hubert  "Butch" J. Horan (1933-1995) and was returned to the club after his passing by his widow.  Hubert and his wife, Ellen, were enthusiastic Snipe sailors here at Privateer in the '50's & '60's.  Myra Brown was the Commodore when the cup returned to PYC and she used it to create the Commodore's Award.

The Roll of Winners is as follows:

Henk Zander Memorial Trophy

The Henk Zander Memorial Trophy is awarded to the skipper who has won the most PHRF races in the Saturday Series each year.
The trophy was donated in memory of Henk Zander, past Commodore (1979) and enthusiastic racer at PYC. He won about 40 First & Second Place trophies during a ten year period.

The roll of winners is as follows:

Brainard Cooper Memorial Award

The Brainard Cooper Memorial Award is the highest award given by Privateer Yacht Club.  The deed of gift reads as follows:

A perpetual trophy awarded annually to the club member who, in the opinion of the Board of Directors, has exhibited outstanding attributes in the promotion of sailing and sportsmanship; has contributed significantly to the activities of the Club and has demonstrated proficiency and improvement in sailing ability.

The perpetual trophy was donated by the Chattanooga News-Free Press, where Brainard Cooper, Sr., was editor.  Brainard Cooper, Jr. donated the mast from his father's boat to be cut and engraved as keeper trophies for this perpetual award.  But, the mast was only so long, so beginning with 2013 the club will provide the keeper trophy plaques.

The honor roll of winners is as follows:


Secondary address